fbpx Skip to content

Knowledge Byte: 5 Key Cloud Management Roles


Cloud Credential Council (CCC)


Cloud service management roles are not fully defined in a single framework or standard.

In addition, the crossover among service management, the organization and cloud computing, and cloud service management had yet to be fully documented in a single repository or body of knowledge. Roles from three distinct areas will be involved directly and indirectly with cloud-based services i.e. from traditional IT, the organization and cloud services.

Management of cloud computing and cloud-based services requires:

  • Roles from ITSM.
  • Roles form the organization.
  • Additional roles not defined in ITSM.

NIST is a reference point that has defined a number of important roles for the management of cloud services.

Various ITSM frameworks have identified many roles for the design, deployment, and operation of IT. An example is ITIL.

The following model outlines the five key cloud management roles:

This figure is the NIST cloud computing reference architecture model. It is used to show a generic high-level architecture and is intended to facilitate the understanding of the requirements, uses, characteristics, and standards of cloud computing.

This figure defines five key roles.

  • Cloud Consumer
  • Cloud Auditor
  • Cloud Provider
  • Cloud Broker
  • Cloud Carrier

The full end-to-end management and delivery of services require additional roles including traditional IT and service management roles.

Related products to help you upskill

Never miss an interesting article

Get our latest news, tutorials, guides, tips & deals delivered to your inbox.

Please enter your name.
Please enter a valid email address.
Please check the required field.
Something went wrong. Please check your entries and try again.

Keep learning

A Massive Influx Into Remote Work Creates an Opportunity for Hackers

A Massive Influx Into Remote Work Creates an Opportunity for Hackers

While the coronavirus pandemic has infected millions of people worldwide, sending people back to work and study from home, these new habits could benefit cybercriminals....
jurian article

ITIL® 4, Why Should You? What’s New?

By 2019, when ITIL® 4 was finally launched, ITIL had been the leading guidance for IT Service Management for the past three decades. Millions of...

Knowledge Byte: Designing the Cloud to Expect Failure

Designing software for failure is an extra barrier to overcome but isn’t too hard, and it certainly pays off. Largely, it boils down to make...
Scroll To Top